Kerf & Press
Search⌘K

Lab status: every product page is marked researched until a machine we bought has been through the test protocol.

Laser EngraversGuide

Diode vs CO2 vs Fiber Laser: Which Type Fits What You Sell?

By Kerf & Press EditorialResearched by the Kerf & Press teamUpdated How we research & testResearched lab test pending

The short answer

Pick by material, not watts. A diode (about 455 nm) is the budget choice for wood, leather and coated metal. A CO2 laser (10,600 nm) cuts and engraves nearly all organics plus clear acrylic and glass. A fiber laser (1,064 nm) marks and engraves bare metal but barely touches wood or clear plastic.

The number

23×

A CO2 laser's wavelength (10,600 nm) is about 23 times longer than a blue diode's (455 nm), which is why they suit such different materials.

Source: Epilog (CO2 10.6 µm, fiber 1064 nm); Creality Falcon2 spec page (455 nm)

“Which laser should I buy?” is really “which wavelength do my materials absorb?” A diode, a CO2 and a fiber laser can all be 40 W on paper and still do completely different jobs. This guide explains why, then gives you a decision table you can use in two minutes.

The one-minute physics

A laser only affects a material that absorbs its light. Absorbed light turns into heat; heat burns, melts, vaporizes or discolors the surface. Light that is reflected or passes through does nothing useful, and can damage something else.

Each laser type emits one wavelength:

Laser type Wavelength Where that is on the spectrum
Blue diode ~455 nm Visible blue light
Fiber (and IR modules) 1,064 nm Near infrared, invisible
CO2 10,600 nm (10.6 µm) Far infrared, invisible

Epilog lists its CO2 sources at 10.6 microns and its fiber sources at 1,064 nm. Creality lists the Falcon2 40W diode at 455 ± 5 nm.

Materials absorb these wavelengths very differently:

  • Organic materials and most plastics (wood, leather, paper, acrylic, glass, stone) absorb the long CO2 wavelength very well. KEYENCE describes the CO2 advantage as a “longer wavelength” that allows “excellent absorption into organic materials like wood and plastic.” That includes clear acrylic and glass, which look transparent to your eye but are opaque at 10.6 µm.
  • Metals reflect most CO2 light but absorb 1,064 nm much better. That is why fiber lasers are the metal specialists.
  • Blue light is absorbed by dark, opaque organics, but passes through clear materials and reflects off white, blue and shiny surfaces. xTool’s own guide says diode light “passes through the clear acrylic, leaving it intact.”

Hold on to that and everything else follows.

What each type does best

Diode lasers: the affordable generalist for wood

Best at: engraving and cutting wood and plywood, leather, felt, cork, paper and dark acrylic; stripping powder coat, paint and anodizing from metal; engraving slate.

Weak at: clear, white or blue acrylic (cannot cut), glass, bare metal (marks only, with spray), speed on thick stock.

Why people choose it: low price, no glass tube, no water chiller, small footprint, and many enclosed models are Class 1. Modern 20 to 40 W diodes cut surprisingly thick wood. xTool rates the S1 40W at 18 mm of cherry in one pass, and Creality’s Falcon2 40W page claims 20 mm of wood in one pass (another line on the same page says 20 mm of cork). Those are manufacturer best cases, not our measurements.

Full details: What Can a Diode Laser Cut?

CO2 lasers: the production workhorse for organics

Best at: fast cutting of wood, plywood and any color of acrylic, including clear; frosty-white acrylic engraving; glass etching; leather, fabric, paper, rubber stamps; removing powder coat.

Weak at: bare metal (needs a marking spray), size and weight, maintenance.

Why people choose it: CO2 is the standard for sign makers, wedding and event decor, and anyone selling acrylic. xTool rates the 55 W P2S at 20 mm acrylic and 18 mm wood, and lists “can cut clear acrylic” as yes, which no diode can claim.

Trade-offs to plan for: glass CO2 tubes are consumables. OMTech lists an estimated 11,000-hour life for the Polar Lite 55W’s tube. Desktop CO2 machines are heavy (xTool lists the P2S at 45 kg, OMTech the Polar Lite at 41 kg) and need an exhaust route.

Fiber lasers: the metal specialist

Best at: marking and deep-engraving bare stainless steel, aluminum, brass, silver, gold and titanium; industrial-grade plastics; MOPA fiber sources can also produce color marks on stainless and titanium.

Weak at: wood (faint or scorched marks), clear acrylic, cutting anything thicker than thin metal, and work area (most are galvo machines with a small field).

Why people choose it: jewelry, knives, tags, tools, firearms accessories and anything where the mark must survive abrasion. OMTech notes that only fiber lasers achieve genuine deep carving for “badges, stamps, or designs intended to be paint-filled.” Diodes and CO2s can only mark bare metal with help.

Most small-business fiber machines are galvo systems, which steer the beam with mirrors instead of moving a head. That is a separate choice with its own trade-offs; see Galvo vs Gantry.

The dual-source middle ground

Several newer machines combine two wavelengths. xTool’s F1 Ultra pairs a 20 W fiber with a 20 W diode; the F2 Ultra pairs a 60 W MOPA fiber with a 40 W diode. They cover metal and wood in one box, but inside a small galvo field (220 × 220 mm, per xTool). They are marking and engraving machines first, not sheet cutters.

Side-by-side

Diode CO2 Fiber
Wavelength ~455 nm 10,600 nm 1,064 nm
Cut wood Yes (slower) Yes (fast) No
Cut clear acrylic No Yes No
Cut dark acrylic Yes Yes No
Engrave glass Poor Yes (frosted) Limited
Remove powder coat Yes Yes Yes
Mark bare stainless With spray With spray Yes, natively
Deep-engrave metal No No Yes
Typical motion Gantry Gantry Galvo
Consumables Lenses, fans Tube, water, mirrors, lens Protective lens
Weight (models we researched) About 5 to 20 kg 41 to 45 kg (Polar Lite, P2S) About 11 to 22 kg

Material verdicts come from Epilog’s CO2/fiber compatibility list, xTool’s acrylic guide, and our own Can I Laser This? dataset.

Price bands (manufacturer list prices, September 2026)

These are ranges drawn from the machines we have researched so far, not market averages.

Band What you get Examples (list price)
Under $1,000 Open-frame diodes, small enclosed diodes Creality Falcon2 40W ($639 sale price on Creality’s store); xTool M2 10W ($599) and 20W ($999); Glowforge Aura ($999)
$1,000 to $2,000 Enclosed 20 to 40 W diodes; entry galvo dual-source; 30 W fiber galvos; entry desktop CO2 xTool S1 20W ($1,299), S1 40W ($1,699); xTool F2 ($1,499); OMTech Galvo Fiber 30 ($1,899.99); Monport GM30 Pro ($1,999.99); Monport Reno 45 Pro ($1,499.99)
$2,000 to $3,500 Desktop 55 W CO2; fiber + diode galvo OMTech Polar Lite 55W ($2,199.99); xTool P2S ($2,999); xTool F1 Ultra ($2,999)
$5,000 and up Premium MOPA galvo; appliance-style CO2 xTool F2 Ultra ($5,299); Glowforge Plus HD ($6,999)

Budget beyond the machine: fume extraction, air assist (if not built in), a rotary for drinkware, safety glasses for Class 4 machines, and materials. Our Startup Cost Calculator adds these up, and the Laser ROI Simulator shows payback with your own prices.

Decision table: start from what you sell

If most of your products are… Start with Why
Wood signs, ornaments, earrings, cutting boards Diode (20 to 40 W) Cheapest per job on wood; enclosed Class 1 options exist
Clear or colored acrylic (signs, toppers, LED displays) CO2 Diodes cannot cut clear acrylic at all
Glass (wine glasses, awards) CO2 Glass absorbs 10.6 µm; the frosted look is the product
Powder-coated tumblers Diode or CO2 with a rotary; galvo for volume All three remove coating; speed and rotary fit decide. See best laser for tumblers
Bare metal: jewelry, tags, knives, tools Fiber (galvo) Only fiber engraves bare metal with depth
Mix of wood and metal, small items Dual-source galvo (fiber + diode) One machine, two wavelengths, small field
Leather patches and hats Diode or CO2 Both work; CO2 is faster at scale
Thick stock (12 mm+) at production speed CO2 Diodes can do it, but slowly

Still unsure? The Machine Matchmaker asks about products, space and budget and returns a machine type. Then line up researched machines in the Compare tool.

Common mistakes

  1. Comparing watts across types. A 40 W diode and a 40 W CO2 are not the same tool. Compare what each is rated to cut in the material you use.
  2. Buying a diode for acrylic. Clear acrylic needs CO2; no diode wattage changes that.
  3. Buying a fiber for wood. Fiber galvos are fantastic on metal and frustrating on wood unless they carry a diode too.
  4. Forgetting the workspace. Desktop CO2 machines like the P2S (45 kg) and Polar Lite (41 kg) are heavy and need a window or duct. Measure before you buy.
  5. Ignoring software. xTool machines run xTool Studio; many others use LightBurn. Software affects your workflow every day. See xTool vs Creality Falcon for an example.

Specs side by side

Manufacturer-published specs. Lab results will be added as we test each machine.

35 specs1 identical

Specification comparison: xTool S1 40W, Creality Falcon2 40W, xTool P2S, OMTech Polar Lite 55W, Monport GM 30W Pro
Spec
StatusResearched lab test pendingResearched lab test pendingResearched lab test pendingResearched lab test pendingResearched lab test pending
MSRP USD$1,699$639$2,999$2,199.99$1,999.99
ConnectivityUSB, Wi-FiUSB-C, TF card (offline)USB, Wi-FiWi-Fi, USB, EthernetUSB
SoftwarexTool Creative Space, LightBurnLightBurn, LaserGRBL, Falcon Design SpacexTool Studio; LightBurn (no camera/autofocus support)RDWorks (included), LightBurn compatibleBslAppSimple, LightBurn
Weightkg20 kg7.68 kg45 kg41 kg17.1 kg
Laser typeDiodeDiodeCO2 (glass tube)CO2 (glass tube)Fiber, Q-switched (galvo)
Laser output power (optical)W40 W40 W55 W (highest listed)55 W (highest listed)30 W
Second laser sourceOptional 2 W 1064 nm infrared module————
Wavelengthnm—455 nm10,600 nm10,600 nm1,064 nm
Spot size (manufacturer-rated)mm0.08 × 0.10 mm0.1 / 0.150.15 × 0.2 mm——
Laser source / tube————MAX
Work areamm498 × 319 mm400 × 415 mm600 × 305 mm510 × 300 mm150 × 150 mm
Extended work areamm470 × 3000 mm—Up to 3000 mm long (AutoPassthrough)Front and rear pass-through slot, 400 x 7 mm—
Max material heightmm——71 mm17 mm400 mm (highest listed)
Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)mm/s600 mm/s416 mm/s600 mm/s500 mm/s10,000 mm/s (highest listed)
Rated cut depth (wood, one pass)mm18 mm—18 mm——
Rated cut depth (acrylic, one pass)mm15 mm—20 mm (highest listed)——
Metal markingCoated/painted metal and stainless marking with diode; bare metals with optional 2 W IR moduleBrushed stainless, anodized aluminum and painted metal; 0.15 mm stainless cut claimed by CrealityCoated or anodized metal only; stainless needs a marking spray (per xTool FAQ)Coated metal only (per OMTech material list)Yes: steel, titanium, gold, silver and other metals; Monport lists 0.08 mm max marking depth
Cuts clear acrylicNo—YesYesNo
EnclosedYesNoYesYesNo
Air assist—built-in (air pump included)built-inbuilt-in—
CameraNoNoDual 16 MP (close-range + panoramic)5 MP—
AutofocusAutomatic (one-click)ManualAutomatic (LiDAR ranging)Automatic (one-click in software)Automatic (one-touch, electric lift)
Rotary supportYesYesYesYesYes
Pass-throughYes—YesYes—
Conveyor / feeder optionYes————
Fume handling——Built-in 145 CFM exhaust fan with exhaust pipeExhaust fan and pipe included (282 cfm rated)—
Cooling———Built-in water chiller (2 L)Air
Offline / standalone control—TF card jobs from the machine———
Laser safety classClass 1 (enclosed, per xTool)Class 4 (FDA)Class 4——
FDA/CDRH class———FDA certified (class not stated on product page)—
Flame detectionYes—Yes——
Emergency stopYes—Yes——
Machine dimensionsmm765 × 561 × 183 mm664 × 570 × 193 mm1000 × 639 × 268 mm1045 × 565 × 280 mm400 × 330 × 620 mm
Power consumption / adapter ratingW275 W240 W (lowest listed)700 W——
Input voltage—100-240 V AC100-120 V AC—110-120 V AC
Warranty (standard)months———24 months24 months
Where to buy

Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

  • xTool S1 40WResearched lab test pending
    MSRP
    $1,699
    Connectivity
    USB, Wi-Fi
    Software
    xTool Creative Space, LightBurn
    Weight
    20 kg
    Laser type
    Diode
    Laser output power (optical)
    40 W
    Second laser source
    Optional 2 W 1064 nm infrared module
    Spot size (manufacturer-rated)
    0.08 × 0.10 mm
    Work area
    498 × 319 mm
    Extended work area
    470 × 3000 mm
    Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)
    600 mm/s
    Rated cut depth (wood, one pass)
    18 mm
    Rated cut depth (acrylic, one pass)
    15 mm
    Metal marking
    Coated/painted metal and stainless marking with diode; bare metals with optional 2 W IR module
    Cuts clear acrylic
    No
    Enclosed
    Yes
    Camera
    No
    Autofocus
    Automatic (one-click)
    Rotary support
    Yes
    Pass-through
    Yes
    Conveyor / feeder option
    Yes
    Laser safety class
    Class 1 (enclosed, per xTool)
    Flame detection
    Yes
    Emergency stop
    Yes
    Machine dimensions
    765 × 561 × 183 mm
    Power consumption / adapter rating
    275 W

    Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

  • Creality Falcon2 40WResearched lab test pending
    MSRP
    $639
    Connectivity
    USB-C, TF card (offline)
    Software
    LightBurn, LaserGRBL, Falcon Design Space
    Weight
    7.68 kg
    Laser type
    Diode
    Laser output power (optical)
    40 W
    Wavelength
    455 nm
    Spot size (manufacturer-rated)
    0.1 / 0.15
    Work area
    400 × 415 mm
    Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)
    416 mm/s
    Metal marking
    Brushed stainless, anodized aluminum and painted metal; 0.15 mm stainless cut claimed by Creality
    Enclosed
    No
    Air assist
    built-in (air pump included)
    Camera
    No
    Autofocus
    Manual
    Rotary support
    Yes
    Offline / standalone control
    TF card jobs from the machine
    Laser safety class
    Class 4 (FDA)
    Machine dimensions
    664 × 570 × 193 mm
    Power consumption / adapter rating
    240 W (lowest listed)
    Input voltage
    100-240 V AC

    Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

  • xTool P2SResearched lab test pending
    MSRP
    $2,999
    Connectivity
    USB, Wi-Fi
    Software
    xTool Studio; LightBurn (no camera/autofocus support)
    Weight
    45 kg
    Laser type
    CO2 (glass tube)
    Laser output power (optical)
    55 W (highest listed)
    Wavelength
    10,600 nm
    Spot size (manufacturer-rated)
    0.15 × 0.2 mm
    Work area
    600 × 305 mm
    Extended work area
    Up to 3000 mm long (AutoPassthrough)
    Max material height
    71 mm
    Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)
    600 mm/s
    Rated cut depth (wood, one pass)
    18 mm
    Rated cut depth (acrylic, one pass)
    20 mm (highest listed)
    Metal marking
    Coated or anodized metal only; stainless needs a marking spray (per xTool FAQ)
    Cuts clear acrylic
    Yes
    Enclosed
    Yes
    Air assist
    built-in
    Camera
    Dual 16 MP (close-range + panoramic)
    Autofocus
    Automatic (LiDAR ranging)
    Rotary support
    Yes
    Pass-through
    Yes
    Fume handling
    Built-in 145 CFM exhaust fan with exhaust pipe
    Laser safety class
    Class 4
    Flame detection
    Yes
    Emergency stop
    Yes
    Machine dimensions
    1000 × 639 × 268 mm
    Power consumption / adapter rating
    700 W
    Input voltage
    100-120 V AC

    Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

  • OMTech Polar Lite 55WResearched lab test pending
    MSRP
    $2,199.99
    Connectivity
    Wi-Fi, USB, Ethernet
    Software
    RDWorks (included), LightBurn compatible
    Weight
    41 kg
    Laser type
    CO2 (glass tube)
    Laser output power (optical)
    55 W (highest listed)
    Wavelength
    10,600 nm
    Work area
    510 × 300 mm
    Extended work area
    Front and rear pass-through slot, 400 x 7 mm
    Max material height
    17 mm
    Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)
    500 mm/s
    Metal marking
    Coated metal only (per OMTech material list)
    Cuts clear acrylic
    Yes
    Enclosed
    Yes
    Air assist
    built-in
    Camera
    5 MP
    Autofocus
    Automatic (one-click in software)
    Rotary support
    Yes
    Pass-through
    Yes
    Fume handling
    Exhaust fan and pipe included (282 cfm rated)
    Cooling
    Built-in water chiller (2 L)
    FDA/CDRH class
    FDA certified (class not stated on product page)
    Machine dimensions
    1045 × 565 × 280 mm
    Warranty (standard)
    24 months

    Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

  • Monport GM 30W ProResearched lab test pending
    MSRP
    $1,999.99
    Connectivity
    USB
    Software
    BslAppSimple, LightBurn
    Weight
    17.1 kg
    Laser type
    Fiber, Q-switched (galvo)
    Laser output power (optical)
    30 W
    Wavelength
    1,064 nm
    Laser source / tube
    MAX
    Work area
    150 × 150 mm
    Max material height
    400 mm (highest listed)
    Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)
    10,000 mm/s (highest listed)
    Metal marking
    Yes: steel, titanium, gold, silver and other metals; Monport lists 0.08 mm max marking depth
    Cuts clear acrylic
    No
    Enclosed
    No
    Autofocus
    Automatic (one-touch, electric lift)
    Rotary support
    Yes
    Cooling
    Air
    Machine dimensions
    400 × 330 × 620 mm
    Input voltage
    110-120 V AC
    Warranty (standard)
    24 months

    Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

Manufacturer-published figures; not lab-measured. marks the highest (or lowest, where lower is better) listed value.

Frequently asked questions

Is a 40 W diode laser as good as a 40 W CO2 laser?

No, the numbers are not comparable. Diode watts are optical output at a wavelength that clear and light materials absorb poorly, while CO2 light at 10,600 nm is absorbed by almost every organic material, including clear acrylic and glass. For cutting acrylic and thicker wood quickly, a CO2 laser does more per watt.

Can a fiber laser cut wood?

Not usefully. Wood absorbs 1,064 nm light poorly, so marks are faint or scorched, and galvo fiber machines have small fields. Some dual-source machines (like xTool's F1 Ultra) add a blue diode so the same box can handle wood.

Can a CO2 laser engrave stainless steel tumblers?

It can remove powder coat from a coated tumbler, which is the most common tumbler product. On bare stainless it needs a marking spray. It cannot engrave bare metal with depth.

Which laser type is cheapest to run?

A diode has no consumable tube and no water cooling, so running costs are mostly electricity and lenses. Glass CO2 tubes wear out (OMTech lists an estimated 11,000-hour life for the Polar Lite's tube). Fiber sources are solid-state. Use our ROI simulator with your own numbers.

What about UV lasers?

UV lasers (around 355 nm) do cold marking on plastics, glass and sensitive materials. They are a niche for small businesses today and are outside the scope of this guide.

Sources

Every spec and number on this page links back to where it came from.

  1. Epilog Laser: What are the wavelengths of the laser sources?epiloglaser.com · accessed
  2. Epilog Support: Material compatibility for CO2 and fiber laser engraverssupport.epiloglaser.com · accessed
  3. KEYENCE: Fiber vs CO2 vs UV, which laser marker should I choose?keyence.com · accessed
  4. xTool: How to Cut Clear Acrylic with a Diode Laserxtool.com · accessed
  5. Creality Falcon2 40W product pagecrealityfalcon.com · accessed
  6. xTool P2S product pagextool.com · accessed
  7. OMTech Polar Lite 55W product pageomtech.com · accessed
  8. Monport GM30 Pro product pagemonportlaser.com · accessed
  9. Monport Reno 45 Pro product pagemonportlaser.com · accessed
  10. OMTech Galvo Fiber 30 product pageomtech.com · accessed
  11. xTool F1 Ultra product pagextool.com · accessed
  12. OMTech: Laser Engraving Stainless Steel Settings (fiber and diode)omtech.com · accessed

Update history

Site changelog

No revisions logged for this page yet. Corrections and re-tests will be listed here with dates.

Written & researched by

Kerf & Press Editorial

Research & lab team

We research and test laser engravers, heat presses, printers, cutters and embroidery machines for people running small personalization businesses. We buy our lab machines with our own money and publish our methods and raw data.

  • laser engraving
  • heat transfer
  • DTF & sublimation
  • small-business economics

Newsletter

Lab notes, in your inbox

New research, price changes and test results as they land. Written for people who make things to sell.

No spam, unsubscribe in one click. We never sell your address. Privacy policy