Kerf & Press
Search⌘K

Lab status: every product page is marked researched until a machine we bought has been through the test protocol.

Craft BusinessBusiness

How to Start a Laser Engraving Business: A Step-by-Step Plan (2026)

By Kerf & Press EditorialResearched by the Kerf & Press teamUpdated How we research & testResearched lab test pending

The short answer

Start small: choose the laser class that fits your first three products (diode for wood, slate and coated tumblers; CO2 for clear acrylic and faster cutting; fiber for bare metal), vent fumes outdoors or through a filter, never run it unattended, register the business as your state requires, get liability insurance quotes, and test-sell 5–10 products before buying more gear.

The number

$999–$2,999

list prices of the enclosed desktop lasers in our database that most home businesses shortlist (checked Sept 2026)

Source: Manufacturer product pages (xTool, Glowforge, OMTech)

A laser engraving business is one of the cheapest manufacturing businesses to start from home, but the machine is the easy part. The hard parts are fume and fire safety, picking products people will pay for, and pricing so that marketplace fees don’t eat your margin. This plan walks you through all of it in order.

Step 1: Decide what you’ll sell before you choose a machine

The most common mistake is buying the laser first and then looking for things to make with it. Work backwards:

  1. Write down three products you would be proud to sell (see our 30+ laser engraving ideas that sell).
  2. Note the material of each one: wood, slate, leather, anodized aluminum, powder-coated steel, bare stainless, clear or colored acrylic.
  3. Check the size. A cutting board or a sign needs a bigger work area than a keychain.
  4. Only then pick the laser class that handles all three.

Step 2: Choose the right laser class

Each laser class works at a different wavelength, and that decides what it can mark or cut. Here is the short version:

Laser class Good at Can’t do (or does poorly) Enclosed desktop examples in our database (list price, Sept 2026)
Diode (blue, about 455 nm) Wood, leather, slate, dark or opaque acrylic, coated tumblers, anodized aluminum Clear acrylic (xTool says diodes are “incapable” of it), blue acrylic, bare metals (engraving only, no deep marking), fast cutting of thick stock xTool S1 20W ($1,299), xTool M2 ($999), Glowforge Aura ($999)
CO2 (infrared, about 10,600 nm) Cutting and engraving wood and acrylic of any color including clear, glass, leather, paper Bare metal marking without a coating OMTech Polar Lite 55W ($2,199.99 sale price), xTool P2S ($2,999)
Fiber / galvo (about 1,064 nm) Fast marking of stainless steel, aluminum, brass, many plastics; very fast small jobs Cutting wood or thick materials; small work area xTool F1 Ultra ($2,999, fiber + diode)

Sources: xTool’s acrylic guide for the diode and CO2 limits, the xTool F1 Ultra page for what its fiber vs diode module handles, and each manufacturer’s product page for prices. Prices change often, so check before you buy.

Open-frame vs enclosed

An open-frame diode laser costs less but leaves the beam, smoke and any flare-ups exposed. An enclosed machine contains most of that and makes ventilation easier to duct. If you work at home with other people or pets around, an enclosure (built-in or add-on) is worth budgeting for from day one. See our laser accessories hub for enclosures, exhaust fans and filters.

Step 3: Set up the space, ventilation and fire safety

Laser engraving vaporizes material. That smoke contains particles and gases you should not breathe, and every laser can start a fire.

A practical checklist, based on MIT’s laser cutter guidance:

  • Exhaust: vent outdoors through a window kit or wall port per the manufacturer’s spec, or use a filtration unit rated for laser fumes. OMTech, for example, ships its Polar Lite with an exhaust pipe and expects you to connect it to outdoor venting or a filter.
  • Air assist: strongly recommended; it keeps flames down and cuts cleaner.
  • Surface: put the machine on a noncombustible surface, away from curtains, paper stock and solvents.
  • Extinguisher and fire blanket within reach, and know how to use them.
  • Written routine: a short checklist for power-on, material check, job, cool-down and weekly optics cleaning.

Also check the boring but important things: your lease or HOA rules, your homeowner’s or renter’s policy (many exclude business activity), and local zoning rules for home businesses.

This is general information, not legal or tax advice. Rules differ by state and city.

Register the business (if your structure requires it)

The U.S. Small Business Administration explains that if you operate under your own legal name, you usually don’t need to register anywhere. If you form an LLC, corporation or partnership, you register with your state (usually the Secretary of State), and filing fees are typically under $300. If you want to trade under a brand name like “Oak & Ember Engraving”, you may need a DBA (“doing business as”) registration with your state, county or city.

Taxes

  • The IRS says you generally owe self-employment tax if your net earnings from self-employment are $400 or more, and you are expected to pay estimated taxes quarterly (Form 1040-ES).
  • Most states require a sales tax permit if you sell directly (at markets or on your own site). Etsy and Amazon collect and remit sales tax in most U.S. states, but direct sales are on you.
  • Keep receipts for the machine, blanks, software and packaging from day one.

Insurance

The SBA describes general liability insurance (bodily injury, property damage, lawsuits) and product liability insurance (injury caused by a defective product) as separate coverages. If you sell anything that touches food (cutting boards), drinks (tumblers) or children, ask an insurer about product liability. Get two or three quotes; prices depend on your state, products and revenue, so we don’t quote a number.

Marketplace rules

Etsy’s Creativity Standards allow items made with computerized tools like laser cutters from your own original design. Reselling blank items “without crafting” is not allowed. Don’t engrave team logos, characters or brand names you don’t have rights to; Etsy removes listings on valid infringement reports.

Step 5: Build a realistic startup budget

Use this as a checklist, then plug your own numbers into our startup cost calculator.

Item Example price Notes
Enclosed diode laser $999–$1,699 (xTool M2, Glowforge Aura, xTool S1 20W/40W list prices) Enough for wood, slate, leather and coated tumblers
Desktop CO2 laser $2,199.99–$2,999 (OMTech Polar Lite 55W sale price, xTool P2S list) Adds clear acrylic and faster cutting
Fiber + diode combo $2,999 (xTool F1 Ultra list) For metal pet tags, bare stainless, jewelry
Rotary attachment Check your brand’s price Needed for tumblers and glasses
Ventilation or fume filter Varies widely Window kit and fan vs a filtration unit
Fire extinguisher and blanket Local price Buy before your first job
Starter blanks e.g. 20 oz tumblers $7.16 each at 25+ (MakerFlo), slate coasters $1.16 each (BulkLaser) Buy for 20–30 finished pieces, not hundreds
Business registration Often under $300 if you form an entity (SBA) $0 if you sell under your own name and no DBA is required
Software Varies Some machines ship with free software; LightBurn is a paid option

Step 6: Pick first products and price them properly

Good first products share four traits: one material, a repeatable setup (same jig, same settings), a reorderable blank, and a gifting reason (weddings, Mother’s Day, the winter holidays). Slate coasters, bamboo cutting boards, leatherette hat patches and powder-coated tumblers are common starting points.

Price with math, not gut feel. A simple version:

Price = (materials + packaging + your time + machine time + overhead share + fixed fees + target profit) ÷ (1 − percentage fees)

Our pricing guide walks through this with a worked example, and the pricing calculator does the math for Etsy, Amazon Handmade and Shopify. To see if the whole thing pays back, read Is laser engraving profitable?.

Step 7: Decide where to sell

Channel Fees (US, checked Sept 2026) Best for
Etsy $0.20 listing + 6.5% transaction + 3% + $0.25 processing; optional-to-mandatory Offsite Ads 12–15% on attributed orders Built-in gift shoppers searching for “personalized”
Amazon Handmade 15% referral fee (minimum $0.30); $39.99 plan fee waived after month one for approved sellers Makers who can handle Amazon’s shipping expectations
Your own site (Shopify Basic) $39/month (or $29 billed yearly) + 2.9% + $0.30 per online card sale Repeat and corporate customers you bring yourself
Local markets and events Booth fee + card reader fees Live personalization, fast feedback
Direct B2B Card or invoice fees only Corporate gifts, realtors, breweries, teams

Full breakdown with worked examples: Etsy fees explained for makers.

Your first 30 days: a launch plan

Days Goal What to do
1–3 Safe setup Install venting, extinguisher, air assist. Write your one-page safety checklist.
4–7 Material tests Run test grids on each blank. Save settings per material. Photograph results.
8–10 Paperwork Decide on sole proprietor vs LLC, register if needed, open a separate bank account, ask for insurance quotes.
11–14 Product samples Make 2–3 finished samples of each first product. Time each step with a stopwatch.
15–17 Pricing Put real times and costs into the pricing calculator. Drop any product that can’t hit your target margin.
18–21 Listings Shoot your own photos, write clear personalization instructions, set processing times you can meet.
22–26 First sales Sell to friends, a local market or a small business contact. Ask what they would change.
27–30 Review Compare actual time per order with your estimate. Adjust prices, reorder blanks, decide on the next product.

Common first-year mistakes

  • Buying the biggest machine you can afford before you know what sells. Upgrade when a product is proven and the machine is the bottleneck.
  • Pricing at blank cost times two. That rarely covers fees, time and mistakes. See the pricing guide.
  • Ignoring non-production time. Customer messages, proofs, photos and packing often take as long as engraving.
  • Skipping the fume setup. It is a health issue first and a neighbor issue second.
  • Copying trending designs with logos or characters you don’t own.

Specs side by side

Manufacturer-published specs. Lab results will be added as we test each machine.

34 specs2 identical

Specification comparison: xTool S1 20W, OMTech Polar Lite 55W, xTool P2S, xTool F1 Ultra
Spec
StatusResearched lab test pendingResearched lab test pendingResearched lab test pendingResearched lab test pending
MSRP USD$1,299$2,199.99$2,999$2,999
ConnectivityUSB, Wi-FiWi-Fi, USB, EthernetUSB, Wi-FiUSB, Wi-Fi, IP, hotspot
SoftwarexTool Creative Space, LightBurnRDWorks (included), LightBurn compatiblexTool Studio; LightBurn (no camera/autofocus support)xTool Studio
Weightkg20 kg41 kg45 kg14.7 kg
Laser typeDiodeCO2 (glass tube)CO2 (glass tube)Dual: fiber (1064 nm) + blue diode, galvo scanning
Laser output power (optical)W20 W55 W (highest listed)55 W (highest listed)20 W
Second laser sourceOptional 2 W 1064 nm infrared module——20 W diode
Wavelengthnm—10,600 nm10,600 nm—
Spot size (manufacturer-rated)mm0.08 × 0.06 mm—0.15 × 0.2 mm0.03 x 0.03 (fiber); 0.08 x 0.1 (diode)
Work areamm498 × 330 mm510 × 300 mm600 × 305 mm220 × 220 mm
Extended work areamm470 × 3000 mmFront and rear pass-through slot, 400 x 7 mmUp to 3000 mm long (AutoPassthrough)220 x 500 (with conveyor)
Max material heightmm—17 mm71 mm145 mm (highest listed)
Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)mm/s600 mm/s500 mm/s600 mm/s10,000 mm/s (highest listed)
Rated cut depth (wood, one pass)mm10 mm—18 mm (highest listed)15 (multiple passes)
Rated cut depth (acrylic, one pass)mm8 mm—20 mm (highest listed)12 (multiple passes, dark opaque)
Metal markingCoated/painted metal and stainless marking with diode; bare metals with optional 2 W IR moduleCoated metal only (per OMTech material list)Coated or anodized metal only; stainless needs a marking spray (per xTool FAQ)Yes: stainless, aluminum, brass, silver, gold, titanium (fiber)
Metal cutting (manufacturer claim)———Thin brass, stainless and aluminum (manufacturer claim)
Cuts clear acrylicNoYesYesNo
EnclosedYesYesYesYes
Air assist—built-inbuilt-in—
CameraNo5 MPDual 16 MP (close-range + panoramic)16 MP
AutofocusAutomatic (one-click)Automatic (one-click in software)Automatic (LiDAR ranging)Automatic
Rotary supportYesYesYesYes
Pass-throughYesYesYes—
Conveyor / feeder optionYes——Yes
Fume handling—Exhaust fan and pipe included (282 cfm rated)Built-in 145 CFM exhaust fan with exhaust pipe—
Cooling—Built-in water chiller (2 L)——
Laser safety classClass 1 (enclosed, per xTool)—Class 4Class 4
FDA/CDRH class—FDA certified (class not stated on product page)——
Flame detectionYes—Yes—
Emergency stopYes—Yes—
Machine dimensionsmm765 × 561 × 183 mm1045 × 565 × 280 mm1000 × 639 × 268 mm273 × 373 × 492 mm
Power consumption / adapter ratingW192 W (lowest listed)—700 W275 W
Input voltage——100-120 V AC100-240 V AC
Warranty (standard)months—24 months——
Where to buy

Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

  • xTool S1 20WResearched lab test pending
    MSRP
    $1,299
    Connectivity
    USB, Wi-Fi
    Software
    xTool Creative Space, LightBurn
    Weight
    20 kg
    Laser type
    Diode
    Laser output power (optical)
    20 W
    Second laser source
    Optional 2 W 1064 nm infrared module
    Spot size (manufacturer-rated)
    0.08 × 0.06 mm
    Work area
    498 × 330 mm
    Extended work area
    470 × 3000 mm
    Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)
    600 mm/s
    Rated cut depth (wood, one pass)
    10 mm
    Rated cut depth (acrylic, one pass)
    8 mm
    Metal marking
    Coated/painted metal and stainless marking with diode; bare metals with optional 2 W IR module
    Cuts clear acrylic
    No
    Enclosed
    Yes
    Camera
    No
    Autofocus
    Automatic (one-click)
    Rotary support
    Yes
    Pass-through
    Yes
    Conveyor / feeder option
    Yes
    Laser safety class
    Class 1 (enclosed, per xTool)
    Flame detection
    Yes
    Emergency stop
    Yes
    Machine dimensions
    765 × 561 × 183 mm
    Power consumption / adapter rating
    192 W (lowest listed)

    Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

  • OMTech Polar Lite 55WResearched lab test pending
    MSRP
    $2,199.99
    Connectivity
    Wi-Fi, USB, Ethernet
    Software
    RDWorks (included), LightBurn compatible
    Weight
    41 kg
    Laser type
    CO2 (glass tube)
    Laser output power (optical)
    55 W (highest listed)
    Wavelength
    10,600 nm
    Work area
    510 × 300 mm
    Extended work area
    Front and rear pass-through slot, 400 x 7 mm
    Max material height
    17 mm
    Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)
    500 mm/s
    Metal marking
    Coated metal only (per OMTech material list)
    Cuts clear acrylic
    Yes
    Enclosed
    Yes
    Air assist
    built-in
    Camera
    5 MP
    Autofocus
    Automatic (one-click in software)
    Rotary support
    Yes
    Pass-through
    Yes
    Fume handling
    Exhaust fan and pipe included (282 cfm rated)
    Cooling
    Built-in water chiller (2 L)
    FDA/CDRH class
    FDA certified (class not stated on product page)
    Machine dimensions
    1045 × 565 × 280 mm
    Warranty (standard)
    24 months

    Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

  • xTool P2SResearched lab test pending
    MSRP
    $2,999
    Connectivity
    USB, Wi-Fi
    Software
    xTool Studio; LightBurn (no camera/autofocus support)
    Weight
    45 kg
    Laser type
    CO2 (glass tube)
    Laser output power (optical)
    55 W (highest listed)
    Wavelength
    10,600 nm
    Spot size (manufacturer-rated)
    0.15 × 0.2 mm
    Work area
    600 × 305 mm
    Extended work area
    Up to 3000 mm long (AutoPassthrough)
    Max material height
    71 mm
    Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)
    600 mm/s
    Rated cut depth (wood, one pass)
    18 mm (highest listed)
    Rated cut depth (acrylic, one pass)
    20 mm (highest listed)
    Metal marking
    Coated or anodized metal only; stainless needs a marking spray (per xTool FAQ)
    Cuts clear acrylic
    Yes
    Enclosed
    Yes
    Air assist
    built-in
    Camera
    Dual 16 MP (close-range + panoramic)
    Autofocus
    Automatic (LiDAR ranging)
    Rotary support
    Yes
    Pass-through
    Yes
    Fume handling
    Built-in 145 CFM exhaust fan with exhaust pipe
    Laser safety class
    Class 4
    Flame detection
    Yes
    Emergency stop
    Yes
    Machine dimensions
    1000 × 639 × 268 mm
    Power consumption / adapter rating
    700 W
    Input voltage
    100-120 V AC

    Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

  • xTool F1 UltraResearched lab test pending
    MSRP
    $2,999
    Connectivity
    USB, Wi-Fi, IP, hotspot
    Software
    xTool Studio
    Weight
    14.7 kg
    Laser type
    Dual: fiber (1064 nm) + blue diode, galvo scanning
    Laser output power (optical)
    20 W
    Second laser source
    20 W diode
    Spot size (manufacturer-rated)
    0.03 x 0.03 (fiber); 0.08 x 0.1 (diode)
    Work area
    220 × 220 mm
    Extended work area
    220 x 500 (with conveyor)
    Max material height
    145 mm (highest listed)
    Max engraving speed (manufacturer-rated)
    10,000 mm/s (highest listed)
    Rated cut depth (wood, one pass)
    15 (multiple passes)
    Rated cut depth (acrylic, one pass)
    12 (multiple passes, dark opaque)
    Metal marking
    Yes: stainless, aluminum, brass, silver, gold, titanium (fiber)
    Metal cutting (manufacturer claim)
    Thin brass, stainless and aluminum (manufacturer claim)
    Cuts clear acrylic
    No
    Enclosed
    Yes
    Camera
    16 MP
    Autofocus
    Automatic
    Rotary support
    Yes
    Conveyor / feeder option
    Yes
    Laser safety class
    Class 4
    Machine dimensions
    273 × 373 × 492 mm
    Power consumption / adapter rating
    275 W
    Input voltage
    100-240 V AC

    Paid link: we may earn a commission; it never changes our picks.

Manufacturer-published figures; not lab-measured. marks the highest (or lowest, where lower is better) listed value.

Frequently asked questions

How much money do I need to start a laser engraving business?

The machine is the biggest line. Enclosed desktop lasers in our database list between $999 and $2,999 (checked September 2026). Add ventilation or a fume filter, a rotary if you plan to do tumblers, a fire extinguisher, starter blanks and business registration fees (the SBA says state filing fees are typically under $300). Model your own mix in our startup cost calculator.

Do I need an LLC to sell laser engraved products?

Not necessarily. The SBA notes that if you do business under your own legal name you usually don't need to register anywhere, while LLCs, corporations and partnerships must register with the state. A DBA may be required if you use a different business name. Rules vary by state, county and city, so check locally.

Is a diode laser good enough to start a business?

For wood, leather, slate, coated tumblers and dark acrylic, many small shops start with a diode. It cannot engrave or cut clear acrylic (xTool's own acrylic guide says so), it cuts thick material slowly, and it cannot mark bare stainless steel the way a fiber laser can. Match the class to the products you plan to sell first.

Can I run a laser engraver in my house or apartment?

Only with proper fume handling and fire precautions. MIT's laser cutter guidance calls for exhaust per the manufacturer's spec, a noncombustible surface, a nearby extinguisher and never leaving the machine unattended. Also check your lease, homeowner's insurance and local zoning rules for home businesses.

What should I make first?

Pick two or three products that use one material and one machine setup, have blanks you can reorder, and have a clear gifting occasion (for example slate coasters, cutting boards or tumblers). Price them with real fee math before you list them.

Sources

Every spec and number on this page links back to where it came from.

  1. OSHA — Laser Hazardsosha.gov · accessed
  2. FDA — Laser Products and Instruments (laser classes)fda.gov · accessed
  3. MIT EHS — Laser Cutter Safety Guidance (Jan 2024, PDF)ehs.mit.edu · accessed
  4. Fumeclear — Toxic materials you should never laser cutfumeclear.com · accessed
  5. U.S. SBA — Register your businesssba.gov · accessed
  6. U.S. SBA — Get business insurancesba.gov · accessed
  7. IRS — Self-Employed Individuals Tax Centerirs.gov · accessed
  8. xTool — Laser cutting acrylic: all you need to knowxtool.com · accessed
  9. xTool — F1 Ultra product page (fiber vs diode materials)xtool.com · accessed
  10. OMTech — Polar Lite 55W product pageomtech.com · accessed
  11. Etsy — Creativity Standardsetsy.com · accessed
  12. CPSC — Children's Product Certificatecpsc.gov · accessed

Update history

Site changelog

No revisions logged for this page yet. Corrections and re-tests will be listed here with dates.

Written & researched by

Kerf & Press Editorial

Research & lab team

We research and test laser engravers, heat presses, printers, cutters and embroidery machines for people running small personalization businesses. We buy our lab machines with our own money and publish our methods and raw data.

  • laser engraving
  • heat transfer
  • DTF & sublimation
  • small-business economics

Newsletter

Lab notes, in your inbox

New research, price changes and test results as they land. Written for people who make things to sell.

No spam, unsubscribe in one click. We never sell your address. Privacy policy